Tags


When I looked for a definition of the word “diet”, I honestly thought I’d find something like this: “a restricted amount of food and drink consumed by an individual on a daily basis in order to lose weight”.  Instead I found the following @ the freedictionary.com

diet /di·et/ (di´it) “the customary amount and kind of food and drink taken by a person from day to day; more narrowly, a diet planned to meet specific requirements of the individual, including or excluding certain foods.di´etary”

A wrinkling of the brow was followed by extensive googling for a definition closer to my own, but none was forthcoming.  So, sitting at my computer writing this entry, it has just dawned on me how emotive the word “diet” is for any dieter, and furthermore, how much of an emotional eater I am.  Food has become a focus in my life: to comfort or treat when I’m feeling down or bored; to impress others when my self-esteem needs boosting; and to act as a reward if I’ve been dieting.  Not surprising that my definition of diet means restriction rather meeting specific requirements.  The only time I ever think of food as fuel is if (extremely rarely!) I’ve forgotten to eat for over 7 hours and I grind to a halt.

So, I’ve been given a health eating pattern (note the word “diet” is missing here) which I’m following, and I’m treating myself on a weekly basis to things which will genuinely make me feel good about myself: the expensive bath/shower cream; new make-up; a manicure; a massage.  It’s all about loving and not loathing myself from now on.

If you’re also trying to change your eating habits – I wish you luck or, as they say in French, “courage!”